Driving Without Insurance
Were You Cited for Driving Without Insurance in New York?
Talk to an Albany Traffic Violations Attorney
Like many other states in the U.S., New York requires people who drive there to have auto insurance as a condition of registering a vehicle. Driving without insurance is against the law and carries penalties of its own in addition to penalties for any violation you were charged with when police stopped you and discovered that you did not have proof of insurance.
Note: If you are visiting New York, you can show the insurance that you carry from your own state or Canadian province. But if you have moved to New York or will be staying longer than 30 days, you are expected to register your car in New York and have it insured in New York.
Schenectady Suspended License Attorney
Operating an uninsured motor vehicle — or allowing someone else to do so — may result in your driver’s license being revoked for at least one year in New York. This charge often comes about when a driver is involved in an accident and police responding to the scene discover the lack of insurance. After the year is up and you are applying for a new driver’s license, you may be required to pay a civil penalty of $750 or so in addition to any fines you paid for breaking the law.
You may also be imprisoned for up to 15 days if you are found to be driving without insurance and/or be required to surrender your license plates.
Contact a New York Traffic Violation Lawyer
If you have been charged with driving a vehicle in New York without insurance, you are encouraged to take advantage of our law firm’s free consultation with an experienced attorney. Let us explain how we can help.
We represent clients in courts across New York state, including courts in the Capital District:
- Saratoga Springs
- Ballston Spa
- Clifton Park